Client Alerts & Newsletters

A Georgia District Court Enjoins the Government from Enforcing the Federal Contractor Vaccine Mandate Nationwide

December 7, 2021

Earlier today, the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Georgia issued a preliminary nationwide injunction of the contractor vaccine mandate in Executive Order 14042.  This injunction will bar the Government “from enforcing the vaccine mandate for federal contractors and subcontractors in all covered contracts in any state or territory of the United States of America” while the case is pending or until another order is issued. 

This injunction is similar to the one issued last week by the Eastern District of Kentucky enjoining the Executive Order in Kentucky, Tennessee, and Ohio.  Like Kentucky district court, the Georgia district court found that Executive Order 14042 exceeded the President’s authority under the Federal Property and Administrative Services Act.

We are continuing to watch the implementation of Executive Order 14042 and the nationwide challenges to it.

For more information, please contact the professional(s) listed below, or your regular Crowell & Moring contact.

Kris D. Meade
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2854
Email: kmeade@crowell.com

Thomas P. Gies
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2690
Email: tgies@crowell.com

Katie Erno
Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2926
Email: kerno@crowell.com

Peter Eyre
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2807
Email: peyre@crowell.com

Lorraine M. Campos
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2786
Email: lcampos@crowell.com

Cherie J. Owen
Senior Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2629
Email: cowen@crowell.com

Alexandra Barbee-Garrett
Associate – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.508.8918
Email: abarbee-garrett@crowell.com

Rina M. Gashaw
Associate – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2827
Email: rgashaw@crowell.com

Crowell & Moring LLP is an international law firm with offices in the United States, Europe, MENA, and Asia that represents clients in litigation and arbitration, regulatory and policy, and transactional and corporate matters. The firm is internationally recognized for its representation of Fortune 500 companies in high-stakes litigation and government-facing matters, as well as its ongoing commitment to pro bono service and diversity, equity, and inclusion.

View Desktop Site | Mobile Sitemap |

Contact | Subscribe | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Alumni

© Crowell & Moring LLP 2022
Attorney advertising - prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.