Firm News & Announcements

Chambers USA Ranks 33 Crowell & Moring Attorneys and 13 Practice Areas as Among Best In Class

Washington, D.C. – June 13, 2008: Crowell & Moring LLP is pleased to announce that 33 of its leading U.S.-based attorneys have been named to the 2008 Chambers USA: America's Leading Lawyers for Business guide. The prestigious rankings are driven by independent interviews of clients and members of the legal community at outside law firms.

Four Crowell & Moring practice areas were ranked among the best in the nation and nine were ranked among the best in the District of Columbia. The firm's Government Contracts and Aviation groups were ranked "one," the highest ranking a practice group can achieve.

In the nationwide category for best practices and attorneys, Chambers USA listed the following rankings:

Government Contracts (Rank 1)

  • Partner Terry Albertson (Rank 1)
  • Partner Thomas P. Humphrey (Rank 3)
  • Partner W. Stanfield Johnson (Rank 1)
  • Partner Kent R. Morrison (Rank 3)
  • Partner Angela B. Styles (Rank 4)

International Arbitration (Rank 4)

  • Partner Arif H. Ali (Rank 4)

International Trade (Rank 4)

  • Partner Jeffrey L. Snyder (Rank 1)

Transportation: Aviation: Regulatory (Rank 1)

  • Partner Lorraine B. Halloway (Rank 2)
  • Partner R. Bruce Keiner, Jr (Rank 1)

In the District of Columbia category for best practices and attorneys, Chambers USA listed the following rankings:

Antitrust (Rank 4)

  • Partner Kent A. Gardiner (Rank 4)
  • Partner Robert A. Lipstein (Rank 5)
  • Partner Wm. Randolph Smith (Rank 3)
  • Partner Jeane A. Thomas (Rank 5)

Bankruptcy/Restructuring (Rank 3)

  • Partner Mark Plevin (Rank 2)
  • Counsel Leslie A. Davis (Rank (W) –One to Watch)

Corporate/M&A & Private Equity (Rank 3)

Partner Mitchell L. Rabinowitz (Rank 4)

  • Partner James R. Stuart III (Rank 4)

Energy: Electricity (Rank 5)

  • Partner Dana Contratto (Rank 4)

Energy: Oil & Gas (Rank 5)

  • Partner Jennifer N. Waters (Rank 4)

Environment (Rank 2)

  • Partner Ridgway M. Hall Jr. (Rank 3)
  • Partner Richard E. Schwartz (Rank 4)
  • Partner Chet M. Thompson (Rank (U) – Up and Coming)

Healthcare (Rank 2)

  • Partner John T. Brennan Jr. (Rank 1)
  • Partner Arthur N. Lerner (Rank 2)
  • Partner Robert L. Roth (Rank 3)

Insurance: Insurer Firms (Rank 2)

  • Partner Clifford B. Hendler (Rank 2)
  • Partner Paul W. Kalish (Rank 1)
  • Partner Jonathan H. Pittman (Rank (U) - Up and Coming)
  • Partner Mark Plevin (Rank 2)

Intellectual Property (Rank 4)

  • Partner John W. Ryan (Rank 4)
  • Partner Jeffery D. Sanok (Rank 3)

Litigation: White Collar Crime & Government Investigations

  • Partner Philip T. Inglima (Rank (U) - Up and Coming)

In the New York category for best practices and attorneys, Chambers USA listed the following ranking:

Litigation: General Commercial

  • Partner William J. McSherry Jr. (Rank 4)

Chambers' staff of full-time researchers conduct in-depth interviews with attorneys and clients and make selections based on satisfaction, professional ability and reputation. The USA Guide was first introduced in 2003. Based in London, Chambers and Partners began as general book publishers in 1969. Chambers USA can be accessed online at http://www.chambersandpartners.com/us/.

Crowell & Moring LLP is an international law firm with more than 400 lawyers practicing in litigation, antitrust, government contracts, corporate, intellectual property and more than 40 other practice areas. More than two-thirds of the firm's lawyers regularly litigate disputes on behalf of domestic and international corporations, start-up businesses, and individuals. Crowell & Moring's extensive client work ranges from advising on one of the world's largest telecommunications mergers to representing governments and corporations on international arbitration matters. Based in Washington, D.C., the firm also has offices in California, New York, London, and Brussels.

Download Printable PDF
Printable PDF

Contact(s):

John T. Brennan Jr.
Partner
+1 202.624.2760
Email: jbrennan@crowell.com Kent A. Gardiner
Partner
+1 202.624.2578
Email: kgardiner@crowell.com Clifford B. Hendler
Partner
+1 202.624.2928
Email: chendler@crowell.com Philip T. Inglima
Partner
+1 202.624.2795
Email: pinglima@crowell.com Mark D. Plevin
Partner
+1 415.365.7446
Email: mplevin@crowell.com Jeffrey D. Sanok
Partner
+1 202.624.2995
Email: jsanok@crowell.com Wm. Randolph Smith
Partner
+1 202.624.2700
Email: wrsmith@crowell.com Jeffrey L. Snyder
Partner
+1 202.624.2790
Email: jsnyder@crowell.com James R. Stuart III
Partner
+1 202.624.2865
Email: jstuart@crowell.com Jeane A. Thomas, CIPP/E
Partner
+1 202.624.2877
Email: jthomas@crowell.com Jennifer N. Waters
Partner
+1 202.624.2715
Email: jwaters@crowell.com Thomas P. Humphrey
Senior Counsel
+1 202.624.2633
Email: thumphrey@crowell.com W. Stanfield Johnson
Senior Counsel
+1 202.624.2520
Email: wjohnson@crowell.com Kent R. Morrison
Senior Counsel
+1 202.624.2610
Email: kmorrison@crowell.com Richard E. Schwartz
Senior Counsel
+1 202.624.2905
Email: rschwartz@crowell.com
Crowell & Moring LLP is an international law firm with more than 500 lawyers representing clients in litigation and arbitration, regulatory, and transactional matters. The firm is internationally recognized for its representation of Fortune 500 companies in high-stakes litigation, as well as its ongoing commitment to pro bono service and diversity. The firm has offices in Washington, DC, New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Orange County, London, and Brussels.

View Desktop Site | Mobile Sitemap

Contact | Subscribe | Terms of Use/Privacy Policy | Alumni

© Crowell & Moring LLP 2019
Attorney advertising - prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.