Remote Working Abroad: 10 Tips for Global Employers

November 30, 2020

Almost one year after the appearance of the novel coronavirus, the COVID-19 pandemic continues to set agendas for countries and multinational companies. More and more countries and jurisdictions have re-introduced lockdowns and restrictions on activities outside the home. Non-essential shops, bars and restaurants are closed again or have limited opening hours. Employees who may have begun the process of returning to the office are obliged to work from home again to the maximum extent.

As remote working arrangements continue to be extended, requests from employees to work remotely outside their country of employment are becoming more and more common, especially during the upcoming holiday season.

What questions should global employers ask before allowing employees to work from their home country? What are the risks? How can companies avoid unpleasant surprises? Here are 10 tips for global employers relating to remote working abroad and expatriate work arrangements as the next wave of COVID-19 restrictions goes into effect:

Nicole Janigian Simonian
Partner – Los Angeles, Shanghai
Phone: +1 213.310.7998
Email: nsimonian@crowell.com

Emmanuel Plasschaert
Partner – Brussels
Phone: +32.2.282.4084
Email: eplasschaert@crowell.com

Maarten Stassen
Partner – Brussels
Phone: +32.2.214.2837
Email: mstassen@crowell.com

S. Starling Marshall
Partner – New York
Phone: +1 212.895.4263
Email: smarshall@crowell.com

Robert Clifton Burns
Senior Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.688.3448
Email: cburns@crowell.com

Evelien Jamaels
Counsel – Brussels
Phone: +32.2.214.2814
Email: ejamaels@crowell.com

Jackson C. Pai
Counsel – Los Angeles
Phone: +1 213.310.7989
Email: jpai@crowell.com

Yi Huang
Counsel – Shanghai
Phone: +86.21.8030.1688
Email: yhuang@crowellmoring.asia

Subscribe

Focus Areas

View More

Crowell & Moring LLP is an international law firm with offices in the United States, Europe, MENA, and Asia that represents clients in litigation and arbitration, regulatory and policy, and transactional and corporate matters. The firm is internationally recognized for its representation of Fortune 500 companies in high-stakes litigation and government-facing matters, as well as its ongoing commitment to pro bono service and diversity, equity, and inclusion.

View Desktop Site | Mobile Sitemap |

Contact | Subscribe | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Alumni

© Crowell & Moring LLP 2021
Attorney advertising - prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.